Street Fighter FGC/SFV scene in Kyoto


FGC/SFV scene in Kyoto

Posted: 28 Mar 2018 09:08 AM PDT

I'm moving to Kyoto in less than 2 weeks and I'm trying to figure out what the scene looks like there. I know about a-cho of course and I'm definitely hitting that up, and any other arcades I can find. I'm also not sure where/if they do SFV in the city since it's not an arcade game, and it's surprisingly hard to find info on. So any information on the scene in general, SFV, lesser-known places I might not think of, or even just tips for someone new to the area, I'd really appreciate it. (PM me if you prefer, 日本語でもいいです)

submitted by /u/chaclon
[link] [comments]

Rework of a menat fanart I did in 2017. It's an improvement, yes?

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 10:41 AM PDT

Luckily, PC players can already enjoy awesome Darkstalkers costumes!

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 02:23 PM PDT

Juri comments on her Lilith costume

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 03:38 PM PDT

"SFV sucks!" -- No, you suck (and other refutations)

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 02:53 PM PDT

Well, it happened.

Someone the community greatly respects has come out and bluntly stated their opinion about the game in 11 words.

Until now, those 11 magic words have only served as the shibboleth of the saltiest generation of fighting game players in history. Thanks to Lord Mike Ross, they are now a trophy to be paraded in vindication. "We told you so".

 

And yet before the dust has even settled, many of us will have already fired up the game and continued to play, enjoy, compete, and maybe even cherish the game. Are we stupid? Are we crazy?

If not, is it everyone else? Could it be a coincidence that so many other people have such a profuse hatred for the game?

Is there something they're seeing that those of us who really enjoy the game aren't, or vice versa?

 

The haters have certainly been the vocal majority, to the point that the rest of us know their talking points by heart. I'm going to try to change the discourse and provide some answers to those talking points, and provide some insights of my own for the haters to consider.

 

Let's start with the biggest and most glaring farce:

SFV is one of the worst fighting games I ever played.

 

Really? How many fighting games have you played? Are you sure you remember them all? Do you really think you remember them accurately?

 

As someone that has made a serious effort to learn to almost every conceivable 2D fighter at a competitive level since the 90s, this statement is a shining example of somebody that

1) has a short memory

2) has not played very many fighting games, or...

3) simply needs a scapegoat to help them vent

 

Show me a fighting game and I'll show you how to break it.

 

A lot of people are looking to SF4 as a superior product. A lot of people don't remember the journey from vanilla to Ultra. A lot of people don't remember what it's actually like to play that game at a high level.

 

Fighting games are extremely dynamic by nature: they are difficult to test thoroughly. Until these last few years, where the concept of regular online patches have become all but universal, the lifespan of a fighting game was typically only as long as it took the community to find serious flaws. It used to take years, but with the power of social media it can happen within a month, a week, or even a day.

 

Street fighter 4 was one of these titles all the way up until its end of life. True unblockables. Unintentionally ambiguous cross-ups, cross-unders, and cross-throughs. Bugged animations. Infinites. Freezes. You name it, SF4 had it. Pretty much every fighting game had SOME collection of these things, which most people would consider serious flaws.

 

I can think of one 2d fighter that has been light on serious flaws of these types, and that's SFV.

 

 

This game has a low skill ceiling. Anyone can be good at it!

 

And yet it's the same handful of people making top 8, top 32, or top 64 around the world. And yet the number of people achieving master rank or above still only accounts for ~0.1% of players (and that's only accounting for players that have > 0 LP)

 

That means 99.9% of players CANNOT achieve the top 2 ranks. In fact, over 75% of players that have more than 0 LP have not even made it to silver... and this is only accounting for online ranked.

 

You might use the emergence of so much new talent as evidence for a low skill ceiling, but consider that the player base is significantly larger than it has ever been. Now consider that the internet and social media have made it easier for any individual to learn and become proficient, in a way that the FGC has never really seen before. This might be discouraging to old heads, but it's really only a bad thing if you're afraid to lose to someone who hasn't been playing as long as you.

 

Experience is important, but it doesn't just mean time spent playing. There are lots of players who never really improve despite decades of experience, and likewise there are lots of players that get up to speed in a relatively short amount of time.

 

Indeed, one of the best things about fighting games is that anyone who truly works to learn and improve can do so. There is no artificial difficulty: No stats, no gear, no membership bonuses. Akuma is the same akuma regardless if he's being used by Tokido or by Betsy DeVos. In the end, it will be the player with the best combination of knowledge, skill, and intuition who should be the winner. Most players struggle to understand why they lost. More often than not, they outright fail to realize that they deserved to in the first place.

 

Let's examine skill ceiling a bit more thoroughly:

 

 

There is no execution barrier

 

And yet there are true 1-frame links, even with the 3 frame buffer, for optimal damage or stun. There has been since day 1. Allow me to cite some examples off the top of my head:

 

Season 1:

Rashid - (corner only) meaty HK WWS -> EX spinning mixer, delay HK eagle strike 

 

Season 2:

Ryu - f.HP, walk up st.mp, st.mp xx st.hp xx st.hk 

 

Season 3:

Sakura - CC st.HK, walk up cr.HP, MK tatsu, cr.LP -> MP DP Balrog - CC st.HK, walk up cr.HP -> HK DP -> LP dash straight 

 

These are HARD to do, or they were at the time. I'm sure the character specialists can help fill this out with many more examples, too.

 

Aside from this, ripping out a DP quick enough to AA a jump that caught you by surprise is still adequately difficult, even for players of 25 years.

 

Certainly, the execution barrier is lowered as compared to link heavy SF4, but even that game got loads of hate from seasoned players for having an extremely lenient command interpreter. There were tons of videos about all the crazy things you could do with the stick and still get a DP/super/ultra.

 

However, this particular facet of fighting games has never been the focus of street fighter, nor what makes a great street fighter player, which brings us to our next point:

 

 

There are no footsies in SFV

SFV is nothing but 50/50s

SFV doesn't give me enough defensive options

 

Nothing kills me more than having to hear people make these complains, then turn around and talk about how great other SF games were in the same sentence.

 

Like SF4, where top players would shy away from simple pokes for fear of getting focus crumpled into a 60% combo

SF4 was a game that was largely defined by wakeup setplay and option selects. Maybe these people just never had to deal with a good ibuki, or gen, or rolento, or zangief, or one of the other characters that had legit 50/50 crossup, command grab, or even legit unblockable setups on wakeup.

Defensive options included reversal FADC backdash, FA backdash, and crouch tech, and sometimes these options were even useful. Sometimes. Ever been walk-up DP FADC ultra'd in sf4 to blow through crouch tech? Is that really the type of defensive mind game you miss about sf4?

 

How about 3rd strike, where a simple poke might get parried and you eat a combo that does anywhere from 40% to 100% damage. The game had full stun combos and NO damage scaling after stun, so being stunned usually meant death. 3s had a host of problems, from character balance (only ~5 tournament viable characters) to unblockable setups to outright game-breaking freezes.

High level footsies in 3s means walking straight into attack range and tapping forward or down, because eating 6 pokes is totally worth getting one combo or GJ activation.

As far as defensive options went, you had ghetto crouch tech and you could hazard a parry on wakeup, but surely anyone who thinks meaty/throw in sfv would consider this a 50/50 situation.

 

Super turbo? Can't jump out of tick throws: you MUST guess the right reversal at exactly the right time. Some characters even have option selects to beat 100% of defensive options (go check out the T.Hawk 360/DP option select)

This game defined the true 50/50, and it has all the other broken stuff on top of that: ambiguous crossups, unblockables, game breaking bugs, and 100% touch of death combos on top of it all. At worst, any mistake can mean your death no matter how full your life bar is. This is why it's hard to hear people talk about how 2 or 3 mixups can kill in SFV.

Footsies take a backseat to plasma chucking and flowcharting in the most pattern based street fighter game to date. If all this wasn't bad enough, go to youtube and check out some of the hilarious shenanigans and bugs you can do consistently in ST.

 

Consider this: defense in SFV is actually quite strong.

  • The throw range in SFV is significantly shorter than any other major SF title, especially when bringing kara throws into the equation

  • No SF game has ever given you a better chance to block an overhead, and for the first time in SF history, overheads are almost always punishable by the entire cast

  • What most people know incorrectly as a 50/50 is the meaty or throw mixup

Have you considered that one OS can beat all meaty/throw mixups in SFV?

Example: You cannot be thrown on the first 2 frames after wakeup in SFV. Throws have a 7 frame break window. You can downback and attempt a throw break between frames 2-9 after wakeup and beat meaty/throw 100% of the time! Replace throw tech with backdash on frame 2 and you have a recipe to beat shimmies, too

 

 

So then it seems that there's no major deterrent from blocking. Sure you've got things like Laura and Balrog pressure, but to quote something Ed Ma once said to me: "if the worst thing I can do is force you to pay attention, it's not cheap"

 

To sum up, "50/50s" (a misnomer) have been strong in every major SF title to date, defensive options have always been weak, and footsies has always been flawed.

 

I want to make it clear that these are all fun games that can still be enjoyed today. The list above just serves as a reminder of all the awful things that have weakened the competitive drive for games past, and a list of things that SFV is happily free of.

All the haters look to the past with rose colored lenses, likely because there's nobody at their local watering hole who can show them how much they'd hate these other games, too.

 

The rest of us can look to SFV and actively notice all the functional improvements.

 

 

Now let's talk about footsies and defense.

 

Most people can't apply footsies effectively.

I mean the overwhelming majority of SF players.

I'm talking 99% of SF players. ESPECIALLY the people who think they "have good footsies".

 

Strong neutral game starts with reading what your opponent wants to do all the time. If ever there's a moment you aren't making between 1 and 3 very specific predictions about what your opponent wants to do, you immediately lose any rights to talk about how "good" your footsies are.

 

Whiff punishing is hard. It's supposed to be hard. Watch any top 8 major and you might only catch a handful, but it's near guaranteed that the ones you will see were successful because the player thought it was coming. Commentators talk a lot about reactions, but most often what you're really seeing is a reaction fueled by intuition. If you're not even trying to do that 100% of the time, let alone how often it's netting you damage or a favorable position, then your footsies are trash.

 

Defense is another thing that has always been relatively difficult in street fighter, and there's a very good and very simple reason for that: If offense isn't good, then there's no reason to do anything. The game actually gives you plenty of tools to stop the vast majority of offensive advances, and it doesn't care if you can't use them effectively. Because screen space is so important in Street Fighter, most moves that move the player forward are punishable, -OB, and/or interruptable.

 

If you can't stop dashes and jumps consistently, you're losing at footsies and defense. If you're getting pushed to the corner, you have thoroughly lost at footsies. If you're getting knocked down, you have lost at defense.

 

It's not a coincidence that the top competing players are those whom are most consistent at punishing whiffs, anti-airing jumps, successfully blocking and escaping pressure, optimizing damage opportunities, and making the fewest mistakes.

 

It's not the game.

 

It's you.

 

 

Obviously, SFV is not a perfect game. It is however the closest to a balanced and functioning competitive street fighter game that we've ever seen.

 

If there is one major criticism that I agree with, it's the input lag. Today, it sits between 5 and 8 frames. For the record, the arcade versions of previous SF games have been between 3 and 5 so it's actually much less of a difference than the community has made it out to be, but obviously lower is better. The 8 frames at release was indeed unacceptable and this is one area of the game that I think we can all agree Capcom should work to address more seriously.

submitted by /u/DudemasterSupreme
[link] [comments]

New pic of Juri in Lilith costume. Considering it's a gameplay pic she'll really stay flat.

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 06:34 PM PDT

picking your first serious character

Posted: 28 Mar 2018 05:31 AM PDT

ive played a little with friends for years not very good and wanting to get better how do i go about picking a main my friends have always told me to pick ryu or balrog? is that true or what is best approach to finding your character, also have problems with z inputs unless walking forward

submitted by /u/Toohey113
[link] [comments]

I won smash.gg fantasy for SFV 3 months ago and I still haven't gotten the prize. Pics inside.

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 03:19 PM PDT

Hey all.

So I won the Capcom Cup fantasy game in December and I thought that was pretty swell. However, they still haven't sent my prize out after promising to do so multiple times.

I've contacted them through e-mail, Twitter, and even Reddit, but they haven't sent out my hoodie. Perhaps the hoodie was a metaphor for competitive spirit. If so, that sucks. I would rather have my hoodie.

So smash.gg, /u/BearUNLV , or whoever is reading this: Please send out my prize. It's been 3 months. I like playing your fantasy game, okay? Come on. You don't want a reputation of false advertising.

Screenshots of contacting them: https://imgur.com/a/WR41Z

submitted by /u/gnu_mad
[link] [comments]

Official Licensed Street Fighter miniatures game announced and shown, it seems expensive, but also pretty awesome as a Collector’s item. Will you buy it?

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 11:08 PM PDT

One of my personal favorite moments of the NA Ryu Only Tournament the other night.

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 05:29 PM PDT

[Daily General Lounge] Here is a collection of general information & useful resources. Casual conversations, quick questions and answers are welcome!

Posted: 28 Mar 2018 05:06 AM PDT

This thread provides a place for everyone to ask simple questions and chat about anything reasonably on topic. To new players and new members of the community alike we encourage you tap into all of the resources of this sub.

  • If you're a new player looking for players around your same skill level, check out the New Challenger, the go to place for new players trying to level up!

  • If you want to learn how to play and become a better player at Street Fighter V, you must check out the useful resources below:

Street Fighter V Character Data & Move Lists

Rashid R. Mika ChunLi Ryu Ken
Cammy Laura Zangief Karin Nash
M.Bison Birdie Vega Necalli Dhalsim
F.A.N.G Alex Guile Ibuki Balrog
Juri Urien Akuma Kolin Ed
Abigail Menat Zeku Sakura Blanka

Character Discussion Index for character specific combos, tips and matchups

General FAQ

  1. I'm new to SFV and this is overwhelming! What do I do?
  2. Where can I find a basic overview of each character?
  3. What does _____ mean?
  4. Where can I find combos?
  5. How can I stop being bad?
  6. Are there other Fighting Game communities?
  7. Where can I find replays?
  8. Can my computer handle Street Fighter V?
    • Click here to see Street Fighter V PC Recommended Specs!
  9. What's Footsies?
  10. Execution problems?
  11. Advanced Techniques?
submitted by /u/AutoModerator
[link] [comments]

Juri reacts to her Lilith costume

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 05:07 PM PDT

USFIV Omega Mode Move List

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 04:34 PM PDT

Abigail Footsies

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 07:33 PM PDT

When You Remember It's Only 2 Days Till Friday!

Posted: 28 Mar 2018 03:41 AM PDT

My Akuma Qanba, just finished today.

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 12:21 PM PDT

DarkStalker Chun Doe....

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 10:36 AM PDT

New player

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 09:47 PM PDT

Fairly new to FGC been a long time button smashers but I want to get good like legit good. So was hoping to get tips and pointed to sources for info. Right now I'm interested in cammy/Kolin

-How should I practice? Go over combos all day and play matches?

-Where'd I I find up to date combos (cammy)?

-besides training mode are the any other modes worth putting in time to get good?

-How to I adjust my play for online play as oppose local matches

Any other info would be great thanks!

submitted by /u/Brosus-of-Nazareth
[link] [comments]

�� 【MODS】 SFV AE - Necalli Black Panther ��

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 12:11 PM PDT

Best of V show talks about MikeRoss AMA fallout

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 05:41 PM PDT

Tokido's Pool at NCR includes Big Bird, PR Balrog, Chris G, Nephew, Kami, Kyle P, and Brenttisfree

Posted: 27 Mar 2018 11:15 AM PDT

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.